Shortlist 2022: The Authors

Vick Hope speaks to the six brilliant authors who have been shortlisted for the 2022 Prize - Elif Shafak, Lisa Allen-Agostini, Louise Erdrich, Maggie Shipstead, Meg Mason and Ruth Ozeki.

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on June 15th. 


The 2022 shortlist: 

The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak

The Bread the Devil Knead by Lisa Allen-Agostini

The Sentence by Louise Erdrich

Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead

Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason

The Book of Form and Emptiness by Ruth Ozeki


Vick Hope, multi-award winning TV and BBC Radio 1 presenter, author and journalist, is the host of season five of the Women’s Prize for Fiction Podcast. Every week, Vick will be joined by another inspirational woman to discuss the work of incredible female authors, kicking off with guest Gabby Logan. The Women’s Prize is one of the most prestigious literary awards in the world, and they continue to champion the very best books written by women.


Don’t want to miss the rest of Season Five? Listen and subscribe now!


This podcast is sponsored by Baileys and produced by Bird Lime Media.

See for privacy and opt-out information.