Francine Toon & Deborah Masson: And the Winners Are?

This week’s Tartan Noir Show brings together Francine Toon and Deborah Masson. Theresa Talbot caught up with them as they were draining their glasses of fizz - after Bloody Scotland 2020. Francine won the McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year with her novel, Pine. She was also on the short list for the Debut Crime Book of the Year along with Deborah, whose first novel, Hold Your Tongue, introducing DI Eve Hunter, took that award. They chat about writing their first books and, having won these prestigious prizes, what’s next? 


Francine Toon:

Deborah Masson:

Bloody Scotland - McIlvanney Prize 2020:

Bloody Scotland - Debut Writer Prize 2020:

Double Scotch Podcast with guest Ian Rankin:

Theresa Talbot:

For more information about The Tartan Noir Show, visit:


See for privacy and opt-out information.