Christmas 2023 - The Yule Fire

Today’s episode of The Other Stories has been sponsored by Voice123, the world’s first voice-over marketplace with over 30,000 projects of all genres flowing through annually. Voice123 is the top choice for producers needing a voice to complete their creative projects, and they’ve recently a handy report of 37 AI-Powered Tools that will help you boost efficiency in your pre and post-production workflow. Grab your free copy at Voice123.co/37AIToolsTOS.

You’ll see why signing up for a free Voice123 account at voice123.com is your most hassle-free way to post your projects and hire a voice actor today!


The Yule Fire


'Someone has to hold vigil by the ritual midwinter bonfire. The survival of Gwyn's tithing depends on it. But why must it always be her? This year, Gwyn will have a little celebration of her own.'


Written and narrated by Jasmine Arch (https://jasminearch.com/)

Wraparound segments written by Andy Conduit-Turner (https://twitter.com/andyctwrites)

Wraparound extra narration performed by Luke Kondor (https://www.instagram.com/lukeofkondor) and Daniel Willcocks (https://danielwillcocks.com)

Produced by James Barnett AKA Jimmy Horrors (https://www.JamesBarnettCreative.com)

With music by Dark Fantasy Studio (http://darkfantasystudio.com/)

And Beat Mekanik (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/beat-mekanik/)

And Tim Kulig (https://timkulig.com/)

And Kirk Osamayo (http://www.kirkosamayo.com/)

And Duncan Muggleton (https://temporalrecordings.wordpress.com)

And Thom Robson (https://www.thomrobsonmusic.com/)

And sound effects provided by Freesound.org and Boom Library 

The episode illustration was provided by Luke Spooner of Carrion House (https://carrionhouse.com/)

A quick thanks to our community managers, Joshua Boucher and Jasmine Arch.

And Joshua Boucher for helping with our submission reading.

And to Ben Errington, the Rudolph of Content Creation, guiding us through the dark and foggy pathways of the digital world with his bright ideas and illuminating content.


Jasmine Arch is a writer, poet, narrator, podcaster and all round chaos-for-brains. Find out more about her or her work at JasmineArch.com.


Join TOS+ to access over 75 exclusive episodes, get regular stories in higher quality audio, a week early, and ad-free, at https://theotherstories.net/plus/

Support the show, get audiobooks, and more at https://www.patreon.com/hawkandcleaver


The Other Stories is a production of the story studio, Hawk & Cleaver, and is brought to you with a Creative Commons – Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives license. Don’t change it. Don’t sell it. But by all means… share the hell out of it.


Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.