The Southern Charm of Matthew McConaughey; Free School Meals; & The Web Server That Slows Down Information Overload

From a naturally green puppy called Pistachio, to a charming and surprising memoir by Matthew McConaughey, this week is your usual mixed bag -- including discussion of the government's abhorrent decision to stop funding free school meals for vulnerable children outside of term time (see a petition you can sign and charities you can donate to, below) and some television that has moved us. Also! A book that made Dolly's week, and Pandora's new favourite podcast.


E-mail thehighlowshow@gmail.com

Tweet @thehighlowshow

Shop thehighlowshop.com - 100% profits go to charity, 50% to Black Minds Matter and 50% to The Freedom Charity. For November, all profits will be going to Fare Share


Links 

Reading

Elle Hunt on Matthew McConaughey's memoir, Greenlights, for The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/film/2020/oct/26/greenlights-matthew-mcconaugheys-guide-to-life-livin-hollywood-star

What happened when me and Kim Kardashian both turned 40? By Eva Wiseman, for The Observer https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2020/oct/25/what-happened-when-both-me-and-kim-kardashian-turned-40-joint-party

Help Yourself, by Curtis Sittenfeld 

Quite, by Claudia Winkleman


Watching

Enslaved on BBC iPlayer

Maggi Hambling on BBC iPlayer

Out Of Her Mind, on BBC iPlayer


Listening

You're Wrong About podcast

Dawn French on Table Manners podcast

Elvis Costello on The New Yorker Radio Hour podcast

Timothy Leary on Fresh Air podcast


Sign and donate for free school meals

Sign Marcus Rashford's petition for free school meals for vulnerable children, here: https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/554276

Charities to donate to:

Fare Share fareshare.org 

Feeding Britain feedingbritain.org

Kitchen Social mayorsfundforlondon.org.uk/kitchen-social/

The Trussell Trust trusselltrust.org

Magic Breakfast magicbreakfast.com


 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.