The Curious Case of Mrs Hinch; & Comedy's Diversity Issue

It was the week of the BBC's 100 Women of the Year list, Hockney's record-breaking art sale and the story of Deke Duncan, a radio jockey playing to an audience of one (Dolly's spirit animal.)


On today's agenda, the 'cleanfluencer' phenomenon, Mrs Hinch - who has over 1.3 million IG followers and shares videos of herself cleaning. Why DO people go so potty for her? Does she offer an ordered escape from a terrifyingly messy world?


And we discuss Lolly Adefope's wry joke about a whitewashed comedy line-up - which escalated into a perceived 'race row' and saw Lolly cast in the role of 'Angry Black Woman.' Why is calm and valid criticism so hard for us to accept? And what does it say about diversity - or rather, the continued lack of it?


E-mail thehighlowshow@gmail.com

Tweet us @The High Low 


Links

Mother Ship, by Francesca Segal https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/111/1116702/mother-ship/9781784742690.html

Why Are Young People Having So Little Sex? By Katie Julian for The Atlantic https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2018/12/the-sex-recession/573949/

Popular, by Mitch Prinstein https://www.amazon.co.uk/Popular-Finding-Happiness-Success-Relationships/dp/039956375X

BBC's 100 Women list of 2018 https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-46225037

Tara Westover on How To Fail, with Elizabeth Day https://www.acast.com/how-to-fail1/how-to-fail-tara-westover

When Michelle Met Oprah - Dec issue of ELLE UK https://www.elle.com/uk/life-and-culture/a25007149/michelle-obama-is-still-optimistic/

Could The Palm Oil Boycott Increase Deforestation?: https://theconversation.com/palm-oil-boycott-could-actually-increase-deforestation-sustainable-products-are-the-solution-106733

Why Young Men Need More Pornography, by Eva Wiseman: https://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/article/young-men-pornography

India Knight on Sex Education for Girls: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/india-knight-mp-jess-phillips-sex-ed-must-change-help-girls-take-ownership-bodies-97c96k5n7 

Homecoming on Amazon Prime: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/video/detail/B07FP41Z59

Lena Dunham on Armchair Expert with Dax Shepard: https://armchairexpertpod.com/pods/lena-dunham

Elizabeth Gilbert on The Ted Interview: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/elizabeth-gilbert-shows-up-for-everything/id1437306870?i=1000421929243&mt=2 

For information regarding your data privacy, visit acast.com/privacy