Domestic is Not A Dirty Word: An Author Special With The Great American Novelist, Meg Wolitzer

It’s National Biscuit Day! One of (but not the only) favourite days in Dolly’s calendar. We discuss the huge response to our segment on Ireland’s abortion referendum (they repealed!) and issue some vital corrections; natter about why we’re in the golden age of telly; and debate whether a role model - specifically, footballer Raheem Sterling and his gun tattoo - has to reflect societal concerns.


Also today, we host one of our favourite authors Meg Wolitzer, whose novel, The Female Persuasion, makes a timely landing in a post-MeToo age. We discuss inter-generational feminism, female friendship and idolatry and why the ‘domestic novel’ is as important as a grand polemic.


Links


Atlanta, on BBC iPlayer https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0b3q4bk


Hard Knock Wife, by Ali Wong on Netflix https://www.netflix.com/title/80186940


A Very English Scandal on BBC iPlayer https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0b5b3z4/a-very-english-scandal-series-1-episode-2


Hadley Freeman on Hugh Grant for The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/film/2018/may/26/renaissance-hugh-grant-freed-romcom-hell


Chrissy Iley interviews Patti Smith for The Sunday Times Magazine https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/patti-smith-interview-the-return-of-the-punk-priestess-58s05xq00


Diana Tourjee interviews Caitlyn Jenner for Broadly https://broadly.vice.com/en_us/article/wjb8nb/caitlyn-jenners-quest-for-acceptance


Decca Aitkenhead interviews Chelsea Clinton for The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2018/may/26/chelsea-clinton-vitriol-flung-at-me


Tad Friend interviews Donald Glover for The New Yorker https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/03/05/donald-glover-cant-save-you 


Nobody Cares by Anne T. Donahue: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nobody-Cares-Anne-T-Donahue/dp/1770414231


Patrick Melrose on Now TV: https://www.nowtv.com/watch-patrick-melrose/6ed3e8a5a9b23610VgnVCM1000000b43150a____ 


BBC Radio 4's Soul Music: Strange Fruit: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03jb1w1


BBC Radio 4's Soul Music: Hallelujah: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05mbc0p


Donate to the Royal College of Nursing foundation here > www.rcnfoundation.org.uk


You can e-mail us thehiglowshow@gmail.com, and tweet us @thehighlowshow

For information regarding your data privacy, visit acast.com/privacy