An Author Special with Yomi Adegoke & Elizabeth Uviebinené of Slay In Your Lane: The Black Girl Bible

The POTUS hit the UK for his week of ridicule: the balloon; the march; the press conference and *that* video gone viral of Trump barging in front of the Queen. Meanwhile, Dolly discovers a new music hero (David Keenan) and Pandora reads her first ‘work-help’ book (The Discomfort Zone by Farrah Storr.) Oh, and Love Island fans: Undercover Lover is your new favourite podcast. You’re welcome. 


Today we are honoured to host Yomi Adegoke & Elizabeth Uviebinené, the writers of Slay In Your Lane: The Black Girl Bible. A meticulously researched and brilliantly written deep-dive into what it is to be a young black woman in the UK, the book prompted a 9-way publishing war and is stuffed full of interviews with famous black women including Olympic athlete Denise Lewis, barrister and author Afua Hirsch and former pop star Jamelia. 


We discuss microaggressions and microinvalidations; the ‘white co-sign’; being racially palatable; why representation and sponsorship is so important (just 0.49% of university professors are black women); why black women are swiped left more than any other ethnic group on Tinder; and how Rihanna changed the black beauty industry. 


You can email The High Low thehighlowshow@gmail.com and tweet us @thehighlowshow


Links


Slay In Your Lane: The Black Girl Bible, by Yomi Adegoke & Elizabeth Uviebinené https://www.amazon.co.uk/Slay-Your-Lane-Black-Bible/dp/0008235627 


Undercover Lover, hosted by Harriet Minter https://www.acast.com/undercoverlover


Caliphate - a New York Times podcast about ISIS, hosted by Rukmini Callimachi https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2018/podcasts/caliphate-isis-rukmini-callimachi.html


True heroes insist on staying in the shadows, by Janice Turner for The Times https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/true-heroes-insist-on-staying-in-the-shadows-fkl7lj53w


Suzanne Moore on turning 60 for The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/jul/17/im-a-woman-about-to-turn-60-heres-what-ive-learned-about-life 


Elizabeth Day's new podcast How To Fail https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/how-to-fail-phoebe-waller-bridge/id1407451189?i=1000415790730&mt=2 


David Keenan on Roisin Meets https://soundcloud.com/irishtimes-lifestyle/david-keenan


David Keenan https://www.davidkeenan.ie/ 

For information regarding your data privacy, visit acast.com/privacy